Snow Day!

Okay… I may be a couple weeks late on this post. Throughout the one year and three months at my current job, coworkers kept telling me certain periods of the year were  “calm” and “really slow” … “don’t worry” they said “this is the time of the year to catch up on long term projects.” At first, it was the beginning of the year (lie) and then it was late spring going into summer (lie) and then it was the end of summer, just before fall (lie) and finally, I was told the start of December would be especially slow (major lie). That’s my lame excuse for the sudden lack in posts. But lucky for you (and me), I have the next week off of work with no plans save for catching up on tv shows and blog posts. Like, there might be a blog post every day this week. You’ve been warned.

Anywhooo, back to the original subject of this post. About two weeks ago we had our first snowfall! It was a great week. We had a two hour delay for work on Monday and then a full snow day on Tuesday. I felt like I was back in grade school. No complaints. Instead of doing productive things, like, you know checking my work email, I decided to cook and eat.

Nothing sounds better to me than soup on a cold winter day:

wontons wonton soup wonton soup 2

My mom about died when I told her I was blogging about homemade wonton soup. She absolutely forbade me to post the recipe, but I can tell you it was delicious. The filling has ground pork, shrimp, garlic, soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil and various herbs and we always garnish it with green onions, cilantro, shrimp and slices of pork. Noodles are optional, I usually eat this soup without them.

Next on the menu was whole shrimp fried with garlic and jalapenos. I know this may sound a little strange to those who may not be adventurous eaters, but to cook these, you leave the head on the shrimp and fry it whole with the shell on:

shrimp

And you eat it whole, with the head and shells and tails on:

jalapeno garlic fried shrimp 3 jalapeno garlic fried shrimp jalapeno garlic fried shrimp 2

I know it seems kind of counterintuitive to eat shrimp like that, but it’s so good. The shell keeps all of the moisture in the shrimp and also picks up the flour coating which makes the shrimp nice and crispy. Garnish with slices of jalapeno and it’s ready to go!

Wouldn’t it be nice if we had a snow day every week?

blog dots

Leave a Reply

